2016/03/03 - Horace Andy - In The Light - LP - (Reedição 2016) - 17th North Parade / VP Records

(apenas em inglês)
CLASSIC "In The Light" is rightly regraded as one of the most strongest testament by Mr. Horace "SLEEPY" Andy !
Originally released in 1977 and given confirmed reggae album classic status by the 1995 Blood & Fire release.

Re-issued by VP Records, complete with Prince Jammy dub companion as well, as newly commissioned sleeve notes from reggae historian, Harry Wise featuring previously unseen photos.

“The majority of "In The Light" album was recorded in Kingston and featured a selection of new songs and updates of two old favourites, ‘Fever’ and ‘Problems’. Horace set ‘Problems’ over a new cut to ‘Mr Bassie’ which was later versioned by Augustus Pablo as ‘Pablo Meets Mr Bassie’ for his Rockers label.

Everton DaSilva not only enjoyed a close working relationship with Augustus Pablo but also with a number of other top Kingston session musicians many of whom are featured on this set.

Their sterling contribution is highlighted on the accompanying dub album entitled, naturally enough, "In The Light Dub" and simultaneously released as a separate album.
Mixed by Lloyd James, while he was still Prince Jammy, at King Tubby’s Dromilly Avenue studio the set remains one of the handful of outstanding, if understated, dub albums of the seventies. Jammy’s mixing reveals higher heights and deeper depths to Horace Andy’s songs and is sufficiently sympathetic to allow the exemplary musicianship to stand proud.

Both albums were released in Kingston and New York on Everton DaSilva’s Hungry Town label but it was not until 1995 that these sets would finally reach a wider audience when Steve Barrow arranged a long overdue re-issue through his standards setting Blood & Fire organisation.” Excerpt from sleeve notes courtesy of Harry Wise.


Producer : Horace Hinds & Everton Da Silva
Engineer : Major Little & Sylvan Morris
Vocals : Horace Hinds
Backing Vocals : Wayne Jarrett & Janice
Drums : Jah Malla & Horsemouth Wallace
Bass : Leroy Sibbles & Michael Taylor
Lead Guitar : Andy Bassford
Rhythm Guitar : Privy Dread
Keyboards : Augustus Pablo & Bobby Kalphat & Michael Taylor & Bernard Touter Harvey
Horns : Tommy McCook & Don D. Junior & Charles Bashford & Dirty Harry
Percussions : Clayton Downie & Scully Simms & Horace Hinds & Sylvan Morris & Everton Da Silva
Studios :
Recording : Harry J (Kingston, JA) & A & R

A1: Do You Love My Music
A2: Hey There Woman
A3: Government Land
A4: Leave Rasta
A5: Fever

B1: In The Light
B2: Problems
B3: If I
B4: Collie Herb
B5: Rome