2016/03/15 - New Dub City - Release the Dubs - New Dub City (Australia) / Raspect Records 2015

(apenas em inglês)

Producer and frontman Ali MC began New Dub City in early 2010 as a desire to combine his love of late 70’s reggae, dub and punk with musical and lyrical styles experienced while traveling through places such as Ethiopia, Tanzania, Haiti and the Middle East. Sonically, the production of the music relies heavily on analogue sounds – direct instrumentation, sampling straight from vinyl, valve compression and mastering to 2-inch tape – yet also takes advantage of modern digital technology incorporating the latest dancehall and hip hop beats, dub echoes and delays. The ever-evolving line up reflects the changes in direction in sound, plus the community vibes shared by all members of the band and their audience.

New Dub City began gigging in their home base of Melbourne in March 2010, putting on a regular monthly show called ‘War Inna Babylon’, which saw them perform with some of Melbourne’s most innovative artists, including Monkey Marc, Voodoo Dred and MC One Sixth. Later that year they released the online single and film clip release Welcome to Melbourne, Ali’s take on Damien Marley’s seminal Welcome to Jamrock, which speaks of racism within Australia and condemns police brutality towards Australia’s Aboriginal people. Ali MC was eventually asked to produce a version of Welcome to Melbourne for the ABC TV documentary Subtopia.

In February 2011 New Dub City released a limited edition 7 inch under the name of Ali MC and New Dub City Sound, featuring two songs, Home and Dub in Liberia. The 7 inch release on the fledgling label Raspect Records was followed up with live shows around Australia and New Zealand and the full length album Home, released in June 2011. The sounds of tablas, electronic drums, scratching and live instrumentation mastered to tape grabbed the attention of radio DJs in both Australia and New Zealand, and saw New Dub City once again hit the road and tour Australia and New Zealand. The album was also accompanied by a series of film clips which illustrate the global nature of the music.

The ‘Home’ tour also took New Dub City to remote Aboriginal communities in the Ngaanyatjarra Lands of the Western Desert, where the band performed in community halls and taught DJ workshops. Ali MC had already been teaching music in the Lands, and New Dub City took the opportunity to experience the unique culture, language and landscape of the area.

2012 saw New Dub City once again hit the road, with a 7 date tour of New Zealand plus multiple shows throughout Australia and a showcase gig in the United States. The band ended a busy the year supporting Jamaican vocal legend Prince Alla, release a dub reworking of their song Green by producer Lotek, and perform two cracking Christmas shows.

New Dub City began 2013 with two festival shows (Rainbow Serpent and Moomba) and released the single ‘New World Order’, with dubs by producer Lotek. The band continued their heavy gig schedule, clocking up over 30 shows in the year, while working hard in the studio to complete their second album, which they released at the end of the year. The Azonto dance sensation inspired film clip for the bangin’ dancehall track 20/80, is the first film clip off the new album, titled Tap Tap, released in November 2013.

Tap Tap features a host of guests, including Dubmarine’s charismatic Indigenous frontman ‘Kaz Man’ and guest production from UK producer Mikal, plus didgeridoo, beat boxing, West African drumming and samples from Haitian voodoo ceremonies, once again inspired by Ali MC’s overseas travels. Wayne ‘Lotek’ Bennett (Roots Manuva, Speech DeBelle) overseas the final mix, while the album was mastered to two inch tape at the renowned Kog Studios in Auckland, New Zealand. Throw in some amazing front cover artwork courtesy of acclaimed artist Gordon Bennett, and you have a truly global production of some of the most original, fattest sounds this side of the equator.

New Dub City hit the ground running in 2014 with a slot at the St. Kilda Festival, celebrated their 100th gig, headlined the Light in Winter Festival in Federation Square, plus embarked on a three week tour of Australia’s Top End conducting drumming workshops and performing shows. In this time, they visited the communities of Batchelor, Tiwi Islands, Maningrida, Bagot Town Camp and performed at the Darwin Festival. The end of 2014 saw Ali MC head over to Fremantle (Western Australia) to perform tracks from the upcoming album.

June's 2015 has seen the launch of their brand new album of strictly dubwise music titled - Release the Dubs - featuring eight tracks, a collection of dub and trip hop remixes from New Dub City’s first two albums. The first single Antarctica, featuring producer/ frontman Ali MC at the controls, also Metalheadz producer Mikal and Big Dada’s Lotek also serve up some serious dub styles, alongside local producers Mr Monk, Ghostsoul and Deep Fried Dub. 

Executive Producer Ali MC 
Mastered by Mikal 
Cover photograph Dolf Kruger (1960) 
Cover artwork Ben Debney 
This album goes out to all the revolutionaries… Raspect! 

All songs are dubs of New Dub City songs from the albums Home (2011) and Tap Tap (2013). 

Check them: http://www.newdubcity.com/ and or www.raspectrecords.com


1. Antarctica Dub (Ali MC) 
2. Intifada Australis Dub (Mr Monk) 
3. New World Dub (Lotek) 
4. Dub In Liberia (Mikal) 
5. Green Dub (Lotek) 
6. Industrial Age Dub (Ali MC) 
7. Home Is Where The Dub Is (Deep Fried Dub) 
8. DubShaka (Ghostsoul)